[x]

See Where You Rank in Virginia

1. Anyone have thoughts on this?

Do you think that there is such a thing as enlightenment or spiritual awakening?

Do you think that these are all one in the same, more or less? Are they completely separate?

Do you think that religious ideas come from schizophrenic/bipolar people?

etc.

Discuss.

Add marinersheep to Rail
  2. Nice can of worms, Sir. Did you watch the biology of religion video of Robert Sapolsky lecturing that I posted a couple of weeks ago? It pretty much covered this topic and is quite frankly one of the best videos I've seen on religion. I wish I was a student of Sapolsky. I'd prolly sit in his classroom and skeet.

Edit: I'll repost in case you missed it. Also, here's a link to the outline of the lecture notes and topics covered:

http://blip.tv/file/2204956

<embed mce_src="http://blip.tv/play/AYGHoAKXoHo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="300" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" src="http://blip.tv/play/AYGHoAKXoHo">
    Add Seykota to Rail
    Originally Posted by Seykota View Post

Nice can of worms, Sir. Did you watch the evolutionary biology video of Robert Sapolsky lecturing that I posted a couple of weeks ago? It pretty much covered this topic and is quite frankly one of the best videos I've seen on religion.

link?

Add Phareal15 to Rail
    Originally Posted by marinersheep View Post

Ask theczar. He should be experiencing this if he still hasn't slept yet.

Add GrayFOX22 to Rail

etc.

Discuss.

And to answer this question, yes, in some cases. The video I posted goes through a history of various religions where this has been documented. However, it was schizotypals (milder form of schizo behavior) and obsessive compulsive people that seems to be noted the most.
    Add Seykota to Rail
  6. This is similar to one of my favorite quotes from &quot;House&quot;