[x]

See Where You Rank in Virginia

1. Hey ot, dont post here much but here goes. I'm a young guy looking for my first real job. I'd imagine there's a lot of that around here, so I'll try to start a thread about it where you more experienced ot'ers can help out us younger people find and land jobs. Obviously a job search involves a lot of leg work that we have to do on our own, but I've noticed there are many more subtle aspects to it that people who've had to find a few jobs (or better yet, employers) will know much more about than someone like me.

My question: I am 21 y.o. seeking my first "real" job. Iye, what is sop regarding professional references? Should I call my former supervisor/co-worker before-hand to inform them before I actually list them as a reference? Is it ok to ask them what they'll say about me? In my case, I've been working as a "temp" (tho full time) for 9 months for this company. Would it be acceptable to list current co-workers as references?
    Add Wild_Will to Rail
  2. I live in Hollywood. Only way to get into show business is to offer sexual favors to old rich Jewish men. How I got where I am at least

I'd imagine George Carlin's rules of the road apply most places
    Add Zeppelin to Rail
  3. If you're having BigEarn problems i feel bad for you son, i got 99 problems but a job ain't one.
    Add Moonlight Graham to Rail
  4. Also, why would you waste year 21 by getting a real job? Planning to get married by 23 too?
    Add Zeppelin to Rail
  5. I wouldn't put anyone down as a reference before giving the person a heads up 1st.
    Don't lie on your application, with today's economy employers can be picky, and if you put down you have a degree from School X, they're gonnna check. Plus you don't want to end up like the Yahoo CEO that said he had a Computer Science degree which wasn't even offered when he graduated.