[x]

See Where You Rank in Virginia

1. I'm getting toward the end of my options for employment these days, I have a college degree. I have a job interview coming up and if that falls through then I'm thinking of joining the Air Force. Hoping to talk to a recruiter sometime in the next week. I know there a lot of military guys in OT, what should I expect if I join? What does the recruiter gloss over or misrepresent? Pros/Cons?

Add time4badbeat to Rail
  2. Air Force is obv the easiest of the services, but that isnt a bash of the AF. They are also some of the most High Tech of the services.

So what you need to do is figure out what you want to do in the AF. You need to find out if you want to be an officer, since you already have a degree or do you want to suffer through the first 4 or 5 years before you make rank and get responisbility.

My suggestion would be to make a plan of what you want from the AF. 90% of the people who join the military do it for a degree. That is their reasoning. The other 10% just have nothing else to do and want an adventure.

As for the Pros.

-Shorter deployments, for the most part.
    -Bases are generally much nicer and offer a lot of extra MWR stuff. (Morale, Welfare and Recreation)
    -More High Tech Fields, for the most part.
    -Generally eaiser life than say the Marines.

Cons

Cant really think of any.

If you have more specific questions let me know. Im noit an AF expert but alot of stuff crosses from service to service.
    Add wantagolf to Rail
  3. Well first of all, try and talk to an Officer. They may not have any at your local recruiting office. If any schools around you have an JROTC program or any colleges have ROTC you could find one involved with those programs. You will want to commission, since you have a degree.

Your pay will be higher, but you may not get as much of the excitement depending on what job you choose.