1. I'm pretty new to PL Omaha, only played the last few months, but it is by far my favorite cash game right now. I haven't really read much in depth analysis on the game, but I wanted to know what the general consensus is on AAxx suited or not preflop. I started at .10/.25 and now i'm usually playing at 1/2 levels and have taken a shot or two at 2/4.

Do you almost always come in with a raise, or pot it preflop into several limpers, or only when double suited / double paired / XX is connected?

My biggest question though is...

Are you willing to get all in preflop with any AAxx almost everytime?

I've made a fair amt of money getting tilted people all in preflop when I have AAxx...I am willing to risk up to 1 buyin on AAxx preflop every time, if I'm deepstacked against another deep stack, I'll see the flop. Is that generally the best strategy?
    Add skankmofo to Rail
  2. Check out the Stategy Archives to the left.

<-----------
    Add maniac_mack to Rail
  3. There's a great thread there about what is the best starting hand, and other stuff on O8, but i'm talking about Omaha Hi, and looking for discussion on best way to play the best starting hands.
    Thread StarterAdd skankmofo to Rail
  4. With AAxx, you only want to be getting involved in a big pot with it if you are in position and can get most of your stack in the pot preflop with it, as it is statistical favourite over any other starting hand, except another AAxx. In early position, it is OK to limp with it, as you cannot raise enough to force most people to fold. And if you do raise early, someone can call you with position over you, and then on the flop, if they know you got AA and they hit trips or 2-pair, your in for a world of pain, because you most likely will have to continuation bet in to most flops, then they are free to reraise you to death.

If you raise with a wide range of opening hands preflop though, throwing in the occasional raise with AAxx can't be a bad thing.

Raise