[x]

See Where You Rank in Virginia

1. im writing my personal statement for my law school apps and trying explain how my poker career will benefit me as a law student/ lawyer...any parrallels you can think of would be most helpful.

thanks in advance...

Add wmmcl to Rail
  2. I am a lawyer who went through the process many years ago. I think it is a great idea to incorporate your poker experience into your law school apps. It is a big portion of your life and a great intellectual pursuit that translates well into other areas.

I would focus in a couple of areas: 1. explain the amount of time and study you put into poker to improve your game; 2. discuss the math, logic and reasoning you utilize and sharpen on a daily basis in poker; and 3. bring it all together with a personal anecdote where you utilized these skills in practice. Hammer home the +ev concept- poker is not always about winning but putting yourself in the best position to win. As a former trial lawyer I think that is the strongest parallel between poker and law and, for that matter, poker and life.

GL with the apps. PM me if you have any additional questions.

Raise
    Add s.l. halper to Rail
  3. dont forget pattern recognition and analyzing voluminous information to discern logical, rational thought.

Jeffrey Deaver was a lawyer before becoming a mystery/thriller writer; hes written tons of novels, but also wrote a book on how to navigate law school. theres a section in it that deals with writing a personal statement for law school, so definintely check that out too. i think its called the Complete law school Companion or something like that. Best piece of advice was to start your story at the end, then tell the beginner, and end with the middle.