Allyn Shulman Wants to Set Record Straight About Mike Matusow Penalty

15

Over the weekend, we reported on an incident involving Mike Matusow at the 2014 World Series of Poker. True to his nickname, Matusow had been given a one-orbit penalty deep in the $2,500 Omaha/Seven-Card Stud High-Low event, reportedly for excessive celebration, after which he had one of his old school blow-ups and busted out of the tournament. On Monday, new information about the episode came to light courtesy of Allyn Shulman (pictured) and CardPlayer.

PocketFives’ news coverage is brought to you by Betsson Poker, a leading global online gaming provider. Betsson Poker is available on Mobile and offers regular promotions to live events around the world along with great bonuses and competitions. Play now for a chance to win the a Dream Holiday with the Grand Poker Adventures throughout 2014!

To quickly recap the controversy, with 24 players remaining in the tournament, Matusow won a big hand and began celebrating wildly, screaming, and parading around. After that, he reportedly received a one-round penalty for his demonstration. Upon his return, he busted out of the tournament within an hour. Later, he posted the following rant on Twitter:

“This was worst ruling in poker history. When you fight for 24 hours of poker play on a nub and win a 200K-pot and scream… and am forced to miss a round, this is unjust. Something really needs to be done by disgusting floor decisions that can change the outcome of someone playing for $250K. Again, no excuses, I played poorly after this unjust ruling, but [given the] emotional person I am, it just wasn’t right. GL to everyone left in the tournament, [but] if it were Hellmuth or Negreanu or Ivey, there’s no way they make this disgusting ruling.”

The vast majority of players in the poker world came to his defense, including the aforementionedPhil Hellmuth and Daniel Negreanu. While people might not have been enthralled with Matusow’s antics, virtually nobody thought he deserved a penalty.

Nobody, that is, except for Shulman. In a recent article on CardPlayer’s website, the 2012 WSOP Seniors Event champ said the story we have all heard is wrong. She was at Matusow’s table and has a different account of the incident, saying that Matusow was not penalized for excessive celebration, but rather for boorish, obnoxious behavior toward WSOP floorman Dave Lamb. This behavior, she said, had been going on for a while before the climax of the encounter between Matusow and Lamb. She described what the scene looked like well before the hand that prompted his celebration:

“From the moment we were seated, the players were subject to Mike’s constant stream of profanities. Whatever subject he was discussing included expletives such as Mike saying he had the worst [expletive] luck or some other [expletive] did this or some [expletive] did this [expletive]. It was as if the table was his personal stage. His loud, fast-talking, ill-mannered, vulgar barrage was almost frantic, like someone who had way too much coffee.”

“After Mike (pictured) won the pot,” she said, “he started screaming he was the greatest [expletive] player in the world, no one [expletive] deserved this like he did, etc. He pounded on the table, making the chips shake, and then started running around the room whooping, hollering, yelling, jumping, and swearing.”

According to Shulman, Lamb did not come over on his own. Instead, he came over because the players at the table were so tired of Matusow’s act that they summoned him. And when Lamb did arrive at the table, he did not assess a penalty. He simply asked what happened. In response, Shulman, said, Matusow got up in Lamb’s face. Lamb allegedly kept his cool and asked Matusow to step away from the table to talk about what was going on.

Shulman narrated, “Dave calmly, quietly, but firmly asked Mike a number of times to step away from the table. Not only did Mike refuse to move from the table, he was up in Dave’s face yelling and cursing with his normal diatribe of vulgarities bellowing something like you can’t [expletive] give me a [expletive] penalty; that would be the worst [expletive] ruling in the history of poker. It was only at that point that Dave Lamb quietly said now I am giving you a one-round penalty.”

If we were to believe Shulman, Matusow received a penalty for his inappropriate behavior toward Lamb, not for merely celebrating a victorious poker hand.

Where do you weigh in? Comment here and let us know.

Want the latest poker headlines and interviews? Follow PocketFives on Twitterand Like PocketFives on Facebook. You can also subscribe to our RSS feed.

15 COMMENTS

    • He needs to take a bath. Took a picture with him at last years WSOP, and all I could smell was his BO.

    • I’d like to see her story backed up. If she’s right, then it sounds like Matusow deserved it. If she’s not, then yeah, it was the worst ruling ever. Until then, it’s a “He said, She said” argument.

    • Her story is true and correct to a T. David Lamb just don’t penalize players to do it, he’s one of the best floors on the circuit. CORRECT RULING, only thing I’d done different is a longer than one round penalty. Mike’s action warranted at least a two round. Oh BTW I’m a Poker Room Supervisor.

    • Her story is true and correct to a T. David Lamb just don’t penalize players to do it, he’s one of the best floors on the circuit. CORRECT RULING, only thing I’d done different is a longer than one round penalty. Mike’s action warranted at least a two round. Oh BTW I’m a Poker Room Supervisor.

      Oh BTW cool story bro

    • cocaine is a helluva drug

      ^^^ Coffee my ass, he says that his head meds are messing with him… its either that or something a LOT stronger and more illegal than coffee.

      I like Mike, but I now think that it was a good penalty