Bonomo, Imsirovic, Neeme Among Global Poker Award Nominees

The shortlist nominations for the first ever Global Poker Awards has been revealed.

After tabulating the votes of over 130 Nomination Panel members, the Global Poker Index, along with their partner PokerCentral, has unveiled the nominations in thirteen of the 20 categories of the first ever Global Poker Awards.

The awards are set to take place on April 5 at the PokerGO Studios in Las Vegas where poker players and industry members from 10 different nations will be represented in a wide variety of categories that aims to celebrate all aspects of the poker community.

PocketFives is well represented within the nominees. The Fives Podcast is one of five nominees for Podcast of the Year and PocketFives’ President & Editor in Chief Lance Bradley’s book, The Pursuit of Poker Success,

Here are the nominees, presented in alphabetical order:

Tournament Performance of the Year

  • Justin Bonomo (Super High Roller Bowl IV)
  • John Cynn (2018 World Series of Poker Main Event)
  • Maria Lampropulos (2018 PCA Main Event)
  • Dylan Linde (WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic)

Breakout Player of the Year

  • Almedin ‘Ali’ Imsirovic
  • Maria Konnikova
  • Ping Liu
  • Christopher Michael Soyza

Streamer of the Year

  • Jeff Gross
  • Jason Somerville
  • Jaime Staples
  • Lex Veldhuis

Vlogger of the Year

  • Marle Cordeiro
  • Joe Ingram
  • Andrew Neeme
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Doug Polk


  • LFG Podcast
  • PokerCentral Podcast
  • PokerNews Podcast
  • The Chip Race
  • The Fives Poker Podcast


  • Maria Ho
  • Lon McEachern
  • Nick Schulman
  • Lex Veldhuis

Poker Journalist

  • Drew Amato
  • Sarah Herring
  • Remko Rinkema
  • Christian Zetzsche

Media Content

  • Drew Amato (photo: Brunson bids farewell to WSOP)
  • Lance Bradley (book: The Pursuit of Poker Success)
  • Haley Hintze (article: Vayo v. PokerStars)
  • PokerCentral/PokerGO (Super High Roller Club: Schulman featuring Nejad)

Industry Person

  • Angelical Hael (World Poker Tour)
  • Cary Katz (Poker Central)
  • Matt Savage (WPT, TDA)
  • Ty Stewart (World Series of Poker)
  • Rob Yong (Dusk Till Dawn, partypoker)

Tournament Director

  • Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock)
  • Paul Campbell (ARIA)
  • Jack Effel (World Series of Poker)
  • Kenny Hallaert (Unibet Open)

Mid-Major Tour/Circuit

  • 888poker LIVE
  • RUNGOOD Poker Series
  • Unibet Open
  • WPTDeepStacks
  • WSOP Circuit

Event of the Year

  • partypoker Caribbean Poker Party Main Event
  • Super High Roller Bowl IV
  • WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic
  • WSOP Main Event

Moment of the Year

  • Jeremy Hilsercop received PSPC Platinum Pass via Christmas Day viral video
  • Joe Cada wins The Closer after finishing 5th in WSOP Main Event
  • Doyle Brunson plays his final WSOP event
  • Justin Bonomo wins Big One for One Drop, completing Super High Roller Streak

In addition to the above categories, there are seven other awards that will be given out during the ceremony. Due to their results in 2018, Alex Foxen and Kristen Bicknell will each be receiving awards for the 2018 GPI Player of the Year and the 2018 Female Player of the Year respectively.

Along with trophies for Foxen and Bicknell the following categories will be determined by the Global Poker Awards Jury:

Lifetime Achievement in Poker Award
Charitable Initiative
Jury Prize

As has been the case in previous GPI award shows, the “people” will have a voice and will vote to award the People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year.

Also, PocketFives will be handing out the PocketFives Legacy Award acknowledging a player who has come from the world of online poker to make major contributions to poker’s live tournament scene.

The Global Poker Awards can be watched live on PokerGO on April 5.