Imsirovic, Veldhuis, Ho and More Celebrated At Global Poker Awards

Maria Ho was among those celebrated at the first-ever Global Poker Awards on April 5.

Some of the biggest names in the game of poker along with prominent members of the poker industry gathered at the PokerGO Studios in Las Vegas on Friday night to celebrate the first ever Global Poker Awards presented by PokerStars.

The ceremony acknowledged and celebrated the feats and achievements of members of the poker community in 2018 with 20 awards handed out in a wide range of subjects.

PokerStars ambassador Lex Veldhuis, who was nominated in two categories, walked away with the Streamer of the Year Award for his popular Twitch Poker channel. He was joined by another popular digital content creator Andrew Neeme, who picked up his second award as Vlogger of the Year.

Maria Ho made her way to the stage to pick up the award for Broadcaster of the Year as did PokerNews’ Sarah Herring who took home the Journalist of the Year award.

Almedin β€˜Ali’ Imsirovic was in attendance and picked up the trophy for the Breakout Player of the Year after appearing on the high roller scene and taking down the title of Poker Central’s Poker Masters champion. Fellow high roller Justin Bonomo’s outstanding 2018 campaign brought him the award for Moment Of The Year by winning the Big One For One Drop at the World Series of Poker.

Once again the World Series of Poker Main Event received the award for the Event of the Year. The tournament that is widely considered to be the best-structured tournament of the year also brought its 2018 winner, John Cynn the award for Tournament Performance of the Year.

PocketFives Editor in Chief Lance Bradley, who was also nominated for two awards on the evening, received an award for Media Content of the Year for his book The Pursuit of Poker Success.

Another PocketFiver, Chris Moorman, was chosen to be awarded the PocketFives Legacy Award, given to an online legend who has made significant contributions to the live poker arena.

Speaking of contributions to the game of poker, the Godfather of Poker himself, Doyle Brunson was celebrated with the Lifetime Achievement in Poker award which was not awarded during the broadcast.

Complete List of Global Poker Award Winners

Vlogger of the Year – Andrew Neeme

Podcast of the Year – The Chip Race Poker Podcast

Broadcaster of the Year – Maria Ho

Breakout Player of the Year – Ali Imsirovic

Journalist of the Year – Sarah Herring

Mid-Major Tour/Circuit of the Year – RUNGOOD Poker Series

Streamer of the Year – Lex Veldhuis

Charitable Initiative Award – Robbie Strazynski, Run Well Series

Tournament Director of the Year – Paul Campbell, ARIA

PocketFives Legacy Award Winner – Chris Moorman

Tournament Performance of the Year – John Cynn, WSOP Main Event

Poker Media Content of the Year – Lance Bradley, The Pursuit of Poker Success

Tournament of the Year – World Series of Poker Main Event

Tournament Industry Person of the Year – Angelica Hael

Poker Moment of the Year – Justin Bonomo Wins Big One For One Drop

Jury Prize – Drew Amato

People’s Choice Award Winner – Brad Owen

2018 GPI Poker Player of the Year – Alex Foxen

2018 GPI Female Poker Player of the Year – Kristen Bicknell

Lifetime Achievement in Poker – Doyle Brunson