Swedes Dominate 2016 Yearly PocketFives Leaderboard, ’C Darwin2’ Wins


Swedish players took the top two spots on the 2016 PocketFives Yearly Leaderboard.

In one of the closest races in Leaderboard races PocketFives history, Sweden’s ‘C Darwin2’ won the PocketFives Yearly PLB, beating out ‘lena900’ by just 62.6 points. ‘C Darwin2’ finished the year with 19,198.31 PLB points – the fourth highest score for a winner.

Over the course of 2016 ‘C Darwin2’ cashed 760 times and earned a whopping $1,775,691.92. His single largest cash came in May when he won the opening event of the PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker (H) for $226,106.00. That win also earned him 1,144.55 PLB points – more than double any other score he had in the year.

Other highlights of the Swedish superstar’s year include a win in the PokerStars Sunday Grand in July for 444,376.50 and 465.83 PLB points. He also managed two wins in the $2,600 buy-in partypoker Super High Roller for a combined $79,865.05 and 790.26 PLB points. He had 28 wins, 22 runner-ups and 19 third place finishes.

Coming in second was another Swede, ‘lena900’. He put in more volume than ‘C Darwin2’ and ended up cashing 1,234 times in 2016 with $2,079.591.98 in earnings and 19,135.71 PLB points. While ‘C Darwin2’ had the marquee SCOOP win, ‘lena900’ had just two scores worth over 400 points. Instead he managed to post 33 cashes worth 200 or more points. He narrowly missed out on a massive score in September in the $10,000 buy-in PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker High Roller. He ended up finishing 11th for $64,056.86 and 447.6 PLB points. The eventual winner, Phil ’Grindation’ McAllister earned 1,886.80 for the win.

In six of the last of the nine years, ‘lena900’’s total of 19,135.71 PLB points would have been good enough for him to win.

Rounding out the top three was Alex ‘alexd2’ Dimitrov with 18,503.55 PLB points. Dimitrov earned $1,696,005.92 in 2016 on the back of 1,466 cashes. He won 61 events and finished second in another 51. His biggest PLB score came in June when he won the PokerStars Sunday Grand for $62,751.30 and 571.84 PLB points.

Here is the 2016 PocketFives Leaderboard Top 10

1 C Darwin2 19,198.31
2 lena900 19,135.71
3 Alex ‘alexd2’ Dimitrov 18,503.55
4 Joao Mathias ‘joaomathias’ Baumgarten 18,440.63
5 Fabrizio ‘SixthSenSe19’ Gonzalez 18,024.48
6 Conor ‘1_conor_b_1’ Beresford 17,302.45
7 Andreas ‘r4ndomr4gs’ Berggren 16,446.98
8 Ariados 16,052.74
9 Johannes ‘Greenstone25’ Korsar 15,944.89
10 Pot4teUS 15,832.23

Year-by-Year PocketFives PLB Winners

2007 Scott ‘SCTRojans’ Freeman 15,891.92
2008 Chris ‘moorman1’ Moorman 19,454.85
2009 Chris ‘moorman1’ Moorman 20,850.97
2010 Chris ‘Gettin Daize’ Oliver 20,215.10
2011 Griffin ‘Flush_Entity’ Benger 17,639.21
2012 Matt ‘ch0ppy’ Kay 17,856.55
2013 Calvin ‘cal42688’ Anderson 18,510.04
2014 Rick ‘TheClaimeer’ TRigg 17,810.21
2015 eisenhower1 17,060.64
2016 C Darwin2 19,198.31