WSOP: Isaac Haxton Leads $50K Poker Players Championship Final 15


Isaac Haxton has just 14 players standing between himself and his first career WSOP bracelet (PokerStars photo)

There was supposed to be a bracelet awarded Tuesday at the 2017 World Series of Poker on Tuesday, but the final table of the $888 Crazy Eights event needs one more day to get to a winner. Meanwhile, the $50,000 Poker Players Championship bubble burst after two-time PPC champion Michael Mizrachi saw his run for a third title, and fourth cash, end just short of the money. Three other events filled out the Tuesday schedule with some familiar names and faces dotting the leaderboard.

$888 Crazy Eights Down to Just Two

After three days of play in the $888 Crazy Eights event, Alexandru Papazian and Kilian Kramer needed another day. The final two players bagged up their chips after Harry Lodge was eliminated in third place just before 1 am Wednesday morning. Papazian has a 3.5-1 chip lead over Kramer.

The day began with 28 players still in contention for the bracelet and the $888,8888 first place prize. Ian O’Hara, who began the day with the chip lead, ended up busting in 20th place. Pablo Mariz, who won the Millionaire Maker and was part of the runner-up team in the $1,000 Tag Team event earlier this summer, finished 13th for $41,223.

Another 2017 bracelet winner, Ben Yu, finished 9th, just missing out on his third final table of the summer, for $67,126.

The action resumes at 1 pm PT.

Heads Up Chip Counts

  1. Alexandru Papazian – 50,725,000
  2. Kilian Kramer – 14,225,000

Haxton Leads $50K PPC All-Star Field

Michael Mizrachi has won the $50,000 Poker Players Championship twice and final tabled it one other time. On Tuesday though, he did something he had yet to do in his historic career: he bubbled the event.

Mizrachi was eliminated in 16th place on Tuesday, leaving the remaining 15 players in the money with just one day to go. Mizrachi was one of 29 players to hit the rail on Day 3 of the event with only a story to tell for the efforts.

Leading the final 15 players is Isaac Haxton. Despite having over $1.75 in lifetime WSOP earnings, Haxton has never won a WSOP bracelet. Right behind Haxton is four WSOP bracelet winners. Matthew Ashton (3,220,000), Shaun Deeb (2,442,000), Paul Volpe (2,315,000) and Daniel Negreanu (2,223,000). Rounding out the top five is Elior Sion with 2,033,000.

Also still in the event are Scott Seiver, Mike Matusow and 2017 WSOP Player of the Year contender James Obst. A win by Obst would catapult him into the POY lead heading into the final week of the Series.

Top 15 Chip Counts

  1. Isaac Haxton – 3,268,000
  2. Matthew Ashton – 3,220,000
  3. Shaun Deeb – 2,442,000
  4. Paul Volpe – 2,315,000
  5. Daniel Negreanu – 2,223,000
  6. Elior Sion – 2,033,000
  7. Ivo Donev – 1,900,000
  8. Aaron Katz – 1,484,000
  9. Scott Seiver – 1,428,000
  10. Ian Johns – 1,044,000
  11. Johannes Becker – 897,000
  12. James Obst – 856,000
  13. Talal Shakerchi – 828,000
  14. Mike Matusow – 565,000
  15. Ralph Perry – 508,000

Patrick Truong Leads $1,000 No Limit Hold’em

Just 20 players remain in the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em event after Day 2 and American Patrick Truong has a narrow chip lead over the rest of the field. Truong finished play Tuesday with 1,130,000 while Michael Amato (1,111,000) and Ryan Hughes (1,040,000) joining him as the only players with more than a million chips.

John Monnette, Andy Frankenberger and Eddy Sabat are also all still in contention. A top four finish by Monnette would propel him into the lead for WSOP POY.

There were 182 players at the start of play Tuesday with just 20 making it through the day. Some of the notable names that busted out on Tuesday included Daniel Strelitz, Conor Beresford, Ismael Bojang, John Phan, Joe Kuether, Dan Shak, Keven Stammen, and former #1-ranked PocketFiver Cliff Josephy.

Action resumes at Noon PT.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Patrick Truong – 1,130,000
  2. Michael Amato – 1,111,000
  3. Ryan Hughes – 1,040,000
  4. Rulah Divine – 943,000
  5. Yunsheng Sun – 689,000
  6. Martins Kleins – 600,000
  7. Michael Rocco – 507,000
  8. John Monnette – 426,000
  9. John Green – 371,000
  10. Liang Xu – 302,000

Ryan Laplante Continues to Lead $1,500 NLHE/PLO Mix

Ryan Laplante was the chip leader at the end of Day 1 of the $1,500 NLHE/PLO Mix and through another 10 levels of play on Tuesday, continues to sit on top of the chip counts. Laplante ended Day 2 with 1,105,000, just ahead of Esther Taylor’s 1,057,000.

Just 16 players remain in the event including Shannon Shorr, Mark Radoja, Connor Drinan and Bernardo Dias.

Among the 142 eliminations on Tuesday were Chance Kornuth, Martin Staszko, Carlos Mortensen, Barny Boatman, Tyler Patterson, Jeff Gross and recent bracelet winner Bryce Yockey.

Former #1-ranked PocketFivers Kevin Saul, Steve Gross and Chris Moorman were also among the casualties.

Day 3 begins at 2 pm Tuesday and will play down to a winner.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Ryan Laplante – 1,105,000
  2. Esther Taylor – 1,057,000
  3. Khorchidian Nichan – 895,000
  4. Shannon Shorr – 789,000
  5. Mark Radoja – 710,000
  6. Victor Choupeaux – 667,000
  7. Jerry Callahan – 451,000
  8. Sebastian Langrock – 404,000
  9. Connor Drinan – 392,000
  10. Gabriele Digiuseppe – 320,000

Dylan Linde Leads $1,000 Turbo Heading into Final Day

With just 30 minute levels and two days to play, the $1,000 Turbo NLHE event gives players a chance to get in a quick WSOP event before the Main Event begins. Dylan Linde took full advantage of this on Tuesday, bagging up the Day 1 chip lead with just 27 players left.

Aaron Hirst finished Day 1 with the second biggest stack at 459,000. Anton Bertilsson rounded out the top three with 432,000.

Some of the players that picked up a cash for less than a day’s work included Aaron Mermelstein, Antoine Saout, William Kassouf, Mike Leah and Konstantin Puchkov

The event attracted 1,413 players, generating a prize pool of $1,271,700 with first place paying $223,241.

Top 10 Chip Counts

  1. Dylan Linde – 562,000
  2. Aaron Hirst – 459,000
  3. Anton Bertilsson – 432,000
  4. Toro Istvan – 413,000
  5. William Foxen – 402,000
  6. Ognien Sekularac – 395,000
  7. Joseph Liberta – 363,000
  8. Chris Atkinson – 340,000
  9. Nicholas Rampone – 334,000
  10. Yiannis Liperis – 329,000