BuscemiS19    10

Interesting hand I was in on Sunday.

Sunday $162 Buy in $40,000 PrizePool Middle game

Blinds 400/800 80 ante - Average Stack 22k - 8 People at the hand

VILLIAN

UTG (26,000)

Min raises to 1600

Hero(25,000) Calls 800 (Qh,6h) BIG BLIND

I understand I could simply fold here, but then what would we talk about?

Pot: 4,200

FLOP: 4h 7s 5d

Hero Checks

Villian (24,300) Continue bets 1,600

Hero (24,200) Calls 1600

4h 7s 5d TURN 5c

Hero((22,700) Bets 3,370 inoto 7,500

Villian (23,700) Calls 3,370

4h 7s 5d TURN 5c RIVER 8s

POT SIZE 14,000

Hero (19,330) (qh,6h) Bets 9,000 into 14,000 (Pot 23,000)

Villian (20,330) Pushes all in

Hero Tanks... and....? What would you do? What do you think the Villian has?

I'll put the answer further down.

This is one of those hands where I feel like I can analyze what the player has, but feel too "attached" To the pot.

This is my personal way of breaking the hand down. Im not perfect, and I am still learning.

Villian UTG raise. I put his range on 22+ KQs+ So any pairs and High cards.

Villian Continue betting 4 5 7 board doesn't change much for me. Range is still 22+ KQs+

I decide to Bet the turn for a few reasons 4h 7s 5d 5c= I feel like this flop smashes the Big blind more than Under the guns range.

As the big blind I am going to be defending with many low cards, 46, 56, 57, a7,etc. I also want to kick out his AKs, KQs, and High cards that miss.

To my surprise, he simply calls. When he calls, I am throwing out almost all High card hands that missed. So going to the river I have him on 22+ Possibly AK AQ getting stubborn.

The river is gin 4 7 5 5 8 My Q6 Hits the straight. I tell myself there's 14kish in the pot, and I want to get value vs hands like AA, KK, QQ, JJ, A7s, etc. I feel if I check, he's checking all these pairs.

I bet roughly 2/3 pots, a little higher than I usually would, but I want to put pressure on his Big pairs.