Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'steve lipscomb'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Poker Forums
    • Poker Community
    • Poker Advice
    • Poker Legislation
    • Poker Sites
    • Live Poker
  • Other Forums
    • Off Topic
    • Bad Beats
    • Daily Fantasy Sports Community
    • Staking Marketplace
    • PTP Expats - Shooting Off


There are no results to display.


There are no results to display.

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start



Real name

Your gender

About Yourself

Your favorite poker sites

Favorite poker hand

Your profession

Favorite place to play

Your hobbies

Favorite Cash Game and Limit

Favorite Tournament Game and Limit

Twitter Follow Name:

Game Types



Favorite Site(s)

Table Size(s)


Hourly Rate

Found 1 result

  1. On Friday, PocketFives was privileged to be in attendance for the first ever American Poker Awards, held at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles. Two-hundred and fifty of the brightest and most influential minds in the industry, along with a cavalcade of players, descended upon a ballroom for a four-hour event featuring booze, chicken, and flatulence. Oh yeah, there were awards given out too. Kara Scott served as the host. The first accolade set the stage for the night, with Brandon Shack-Harris accepting his award for Breakout Player in the Year and delivering a speech that included "I have to thank Dan Colman for his leftovers" and "I'm going to try not to fart." Never a dull moment. Awards were given out in groups of four in between meal courses and in case you missed the parade of Tweets, here's who won, courtesy of PokerListings: Lifetime Achievement Award: WPT founder Steve Lipscomb Best Ambassador: Daniel Negreanu GPI Player of the Year: Dan Colman GPI Female Player of the Year: Vanessa Selbst Industry Person of the Year: Adam Pliska, WPT President Tournament Performance of the Year: Mark Newhouse, WSOP Main Event Breakout Player of the Year: Brandon Shack-Harris Event of the Year (buy-in over $2,000): WSOP Main Event Event of the Year (buy-in under $2,000): WSOP Monster Stack Innovation of the Year: Twitch Charitable Initiative of the Year: All In for Kids Media Content of the Year: Brad Willis, "Stages / Never Stop Fighting" Media Person of the Year: Chris Grove, Online Poker Report Chris Grove was at our table and passed around the award after he won. Yes, it was heavy, in case you're wondering, and for Grove, was well-deserved. Steve Lipscomb brought up an entourage that included Mike Sexton, Linda Johnson, Adam Pliska, and Vince Van Patten to accept his award, while Brad Willis' Media Content of the Year win seemed unexpected, as it went up against Jason Somerville's "Run it Up" series. Willis was not in attendance. Innovation of the Year going to Twitch's adoption of poker seemed like a no-brainer and Daniel Negreanu winning Best Ambassador cost this author $10. A slew of poker players were in attendance, including Negreanu, Chris Moorman, Mark Newhouse, Sam Trickett, Bertrand Grospellier, Tiffany Michelle, Maria Ho, Jason Mercier, Dan Smith, Mohsin Charania, Somerville, Martin Jacobson, and Tony Dunst, the latter of whom told us that he has been diving head-long into daily fantasy sports on sites like DraftKings as of late. Nolan Dalla, who moderated a panel at the day's industry conference, called the awards "one of the most exciting nights in poker history," while Mike Sexton, whom we chatted it up with on several occasions, said, "Congrats to all winners and losers at the American Poker Awards and thanks to Alex Dreyfus for making it happen." Alex Dreyfus (pictured), a co-founder of Winamax and the head of the Global Poker Index, organized the awards, which we're certain will be renewed for next year. Dreyfus' peers resoundingly praised him throughout the awards and conference for his vision, passion, and devotion to poker. We appreciate being an integral part of the awards. PocketFives co-founder Adam Small was a member of the eight-man jury that selected the winners, while Editor-in-Chief Dan Cypra was a member of the nominating panel. Want the latest poker headlines and interviews? Follow PocketFives on Twitterand Like PocketFives on Facebook.

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.